First Draft Done

stats

Last night I hit the end of the novel and called it quitting time; therefore hitting my first big milestone with this story. While I didn’t hit the word goal I had set, I did accomplish what I set out to do this month, which was finish the first draft. ย Overall, I wrote a small count of 6,862 words. I’m relieved that the first draft is done and I can’t wait to tear into some old scenes now to rewrite things. I also can see the gaping holes that I need to fill. Overall, the book screams “SLOPPY AND UNPROFESSIONAL, HOW DARE YOU CALL THIS A FIRST DRAFT” but thankfully I’ve learned appreciate messy in the firsts.

Second draft, here I come! ๐Ÿ™‚

~Jamie

8 thoughts on “First Draft Done

  1. Congrats Jamie! So, are you at liberty to say about how many words the complete story is? I just kind of want to know a general size of the novel. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe I should try that writing thing sometime just to see how much I for the blogger over a course of a month.

    -James

    • The first draft is roughly 57,000 words. That’s a good size for me, I don’t really want my book obnoxiously long or novella short. The finished product will probably be close to around 60,000 words.

      That’s a really cool idea, I never thought about keeping track of blogging word count but it’s a great idea! You should totally do it!

      ~Jamie

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!! That’s so wonderful!! I can just imagine how nice it must feel it have the first draft done and looking forward to editing and rewriting! So nice! ๐Ÿ™‚
    xx
    sw

  3. Well, first drafts are meant to be ugly. That is sort of their point. My creative writing teacher always used the well-known literary term “sh$&&@ first draft”, which sums it up nicely. You get the story down, and then go back and give it surgery. The ugliness is important. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congrats on completing the first draft!

    Alexandra-

  4. Congratulations, Jamie! That’s wonderful! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m so happy for you! You’ve hit a wonderful milestone! ๐Ÿ˜€ I can’t wait to see where this story goes!

Feedback on my writing is my favorite thing! Make my day!

